A Mother’s Love

copyright - Jennifer Pendergast

I lay on my back staring at the light above. Alone. Why would anyone want to be here? I am hated by most, including my kids.

I saw my mother’s face above.

“I knew I would die alone, Mama.  I have lived terrible life.  Lies. Manipulation. Hate. No one cares and I don’t blame them,” I confessed.

A tear formed in the corner of my eye.  I felt its coolness as it slowly ran down my cheek onto my earlobe. I labored to breathe. The light above intensely bright in the center yet blurry outward. 

“You’re not alone,” she whispered.

This is fiction written for FRIDAY FICTIONEERS

THE CHALLENGE:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.)

THE KEY:

Make every word count.

Join the fun!

37 thoughts on “A Mother’s Love

  1. Made me think of maybe the last moments of a suicide…final regrets. Is the mom a ghost? Or standing by her hospital bed? The one who finds her? I liked the little bit of hope at the end to offset the despair.

  2. Dark and very deep. I didn’t like it after the first read but couldn’t find a reason why and chalked it up to it maybe being too personal for me at this time. Reading it again 10 minutes later apparently gave me another perspective and the ability to appreciate it.

  3. The loneliness and the story were heartbreaking and sad, but I found the ending to be uplifting – a spot of hope where there was none.

    When I first read this, I assumed “I” was a male (maybe because you are?) But after looking at previous comments and reading again, I realize that gender isn’t specified. That’s hard to do, but in doing so, I think you made this relatable to a larger audience.

Leave a Reply

