Reaching for Life

copyright-David Stewart

“Don’t let go” I yell. I reach frantically for a branch on the side of the raging river. The power of the moving water is strong as I reach desperately. So many thoughts running through my mind.  How did the car end up in the river? Which friend is holding my leg?  My parents will be devastated if I drown.  It’s taking every ounce of strength in my six-foot frame to keep my balance.  Between the person hanging on my leg and the force of moving water I am nearly drained of all hope.  Just another inch!  One last lunge.

This is fiction written for FRIDAY FICTIONEERS

THE CHALLENGE:

Write a one hundred word story that has a beginning, middle and end. (No one will be ostracized for going over or under the word count.)

THE KEY:

Make every word count.

Join the fun!

49 thoughts on “Reaching for Life

  1. I echo what Abraham said, since I was going to say pretty much the same before I read his comment. 🙂 I feel like I should be reaching out to the screen, to help the poor character along. Just a … little…more.

      • Yes, that’s the ultimate question. Ask it on a day when the sun’s shining and the answer might be, probably will be, “Yes!” On another day, dark for whatever reason, maybe not. While his life may not have flashed before him, I enjoyed the thoughts you put there.

        janet

      • The same idea applies to open-ended “endings”–do we like them or not like them? Some days one way, some the other. Sometimes frustration in not knowing, sometimes loving the opportunity to indulge in our own speculation. Sometimes even the author doesn’t really know, which is interested, too.

Leave a Reply

