Elevator Behavior

I had the inspiration to write about riding in elevators while watching Taylor Swift’s video for “Ours” this morning.   This is very different from anything I have written for this challenge.  Not sure it will work.  Just an observation of elevator behavior I have noticed over the years written in 333 words.  Lots of these behaviors can be seen in the video and she even mentions something about the silence in the song.  The video made me giggle.

I entered on the first floor for my journey to the heavens.  I take the spot next to the buttons to select people’s destination.  I ask politely “what floor are you headed?”  In silence, each person individually steps forward and pressed the own button.  “Ok,” I think, then make my selection. The ritual of stopping and adding people continues for a few floors.  Along our journey skyward, our box accumulates an eclectic group crowded  in the proverbial sardine can.  A gentleman in a nice suit and brief case, the secretary dressed in a low button shirt and a short skirt. A maintenance man in his grey jumpsuit with a tool box.  Each press their own numbered button then stands as far from one another as they possibly can without touching the nearest person.  The smell of various odors ranging from sexy Victory Secret perfume to the foul smell of cigarettes with a little after shave throw in the mix.  What an odd world created with each elevator ride.

Being in an elevator shows very unusual human interaction.  It is void of words spoken and silence only broken with an occasional sniffling nose or clearing of ones throat.  No one dares touch the person next to them. Each is as rigid as the cable pulling the elevator upward.  No one looks around. Each person stares ahead into oblivion or most commonly at the numbers over the door as if they are viewing an angel hovering above the crowd.  Is this universal behavior of an elevator ride?  When the elevator finally comes to a halt and you hear ding of the opening door, the crowd rushes out as forceful as the summer waters raging from the mouth of the Mississippi into the gulf.  Each bolt quickly in every direction for their days work knowing later in the afternoon, the journey begins again.  This time, headed downward toward the depths of hell.  Maybe the silence will be broken by haunting laugh of Vincent Price.  

This was written for Trifecta Writing Challenge Week Sixty-Two.

1a : the natural opening through which food passes into the body of an animal and which in vertebrates is typically bounded externally by the lips and internally by the pharynx and encloses the tongue, gums, and teeth
b : grimace <made a mouth>
c : an individual requiring food <had too many mouths to feed>
2a : voice, speech
b : mouthpiece
3: something that resembles a mouth especially in affording entrance or exit: as
Please remember:
  • Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.
  • You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
  • The word itself needs to be included in your response.
  • You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
  • Only one entry per writer.
  • Trifecta is open to everyone.  Please join us.
15 thoughts on “Elevator Behavior

  1. I’ve observed these same reactions lots of times! I think it’s the whole sensory cut-off thing. In an elevator, without distractions, you are very much aware of anyone else who is in there with you. It’s a spooky feeling! You captured it well.

  2. Okay – first? You are the second writer this week that I have read (so far) who has mentioned Vincent Price! 🙂

    second – this is what *I* do in an elevator – esp. in towns other than my own (oh, wait . . . we only have ONE building in my town with an elevator – nm). As the door closes behind me, I turn to face the others sharing my space. I smile, attempting to catch every eye. Then I raise my hands palms outward (non-threatening) and say, “I suppose you’re wondering why I’ve called you all here . . .”

    Always gets a smile – even if it is just mine. 🙂

  3. Elevator rides can be strange like that – so close together but so far apart. It’s even worse if someone starts sneezing or coughing. (I’m not a fan of the elevator…I’ll take stairs whenever possible :))

  4. True,its funny how people behave in such closed spaces as if they are scared of any human contact or that the person standing next to them has a communicable disease-avoiding eye contact & forgetting all social niceties:-)Good piece.

Leave a Reply

