Stephen King says I can’t write!

Stephen King said it!  The master himself told me directly!  You can’t write!  Well, not really directly but somewhat indirectly.  

Mr. King laughing at me!

After countless recommendations I finally broke down and purchased Mr. King’s book “On Writing”.  I have always admired King though I have not read much of his work.  I know he has written outside the horror genre, but generally his writing is not for me.  With that said, he has written two stories that I absolutely love!  That being Rita Hayworth and the Shawshank Redemption (not this again!) and The Body.  Anyways, back to “On Writing”.  It has been a great read.  He is a very amusing gentleman.  He makes so many valid points as you would expect from such an accomplished writer.  It seems what he got out of his early life was determination.  He found his niche early in life and worked to refine his craft into a monstrous career.  

Now the main message I took from “On Writing” is Stephen King telling me I can’t write.   If I can’t make time to read lots of books and to write, then writing is not for me!  That was his message!  Is it true? Now I understand Mr. King’s success has given him time to read seventy plus books a year.  It has given him the time to write two thousand words a day.  Even before he had the financial stability to have writing as his full-time job, he found time. Hell, he wrote “Carrie” with a kid on his lap most of the days.  Or so he states.  

But Stevie, come on man!  Give a guy a break!  I have to read that many books?  Outside the genre I enjoy?  Really?  Damn!  You are breaking my heart!  Smashing my dreams.  You are tearing down my poster of Raquel before I finished my tunnel.  You are excluding me from my outing with my three buddies!  You know the one.  Running from the train!  Leaches!  Bullies!  Well, “suck my big one you rich, successful author”!  Work and kids cut into any precious time I have to write.  I know the lap thing worked for you.  I get that!  But I am different.  I will be “The Shining” example of someone who may not had much free time and struggled to read many books but found a way to write successfully!  

Your book “On Writing” is brilliant.  Although at this moment I am not at it’s end, I have learned lots.  My highlighter is yelling at me to give “It” a break!  It’s original bright yellow has given way to faint peach on the pages!  And though I learned lots, I probably made most of the mistakes you mentioned in your book in this little ten minute writing prompt!

So give me my fast food and set my alarm for four in the morning.  I’ll make time dammit!   And I’ll prove you wrong Mr. King.  And before you die, I’ll give you a copy of my first book!  Or invite you to the opening night of the first script that makes it to the big screen! Or both!  I’ll have that opening in Bangor and give you a signed copy.  If you have the time.

This was written for “Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Go even though I have NO clue how to get my link on the page!

Till we meet again.  Good Day!

Mind of Shoo

Daily Prompt: Ready, Set Go.

26 thoughts on “Stephen King says I can’t write!

  1. Great piece! That’s a great book with a ton of helpful info. I thoroughly enjoyed this. Keep it up!

    Running from the train! Leaches! Bullies!, The Shining, It… I see what you did there.

    • how COOL! He seems as he would be that way. I you tubed a few of his interviews and he seems very fan friendly and approachable. “On Writing” has been a great read! 🙂

  2. Well done, a coherent too. Something I can’t get into ten minutes.
    Can I just point out what Stephen King actually says is that it’s not that you cannot write, but that you cannot write LIKE Stephen King. Getting your link on the page is easy. Go to the Prompt Page and highlight and copy the url. That’s the blurb ontop of the screen that starts with http:// Go back to your post page and paste it, then press enter. Voila! (That’s the only French I know, other than can can girls and Maurice Chevalier)

    • Merci beaucoup! I am glad you thought it was well done. Tough to do when the clock was ticking. My mind was scrambling. I understand what you mean about what he means about cannot write. He’s right there..I can’t write like Stephen King! 🙂

  3. I really enjoyed reading this and if you write a book someday, I will buy it! I think you have a very personable and distinct writing style (I’m an English teacher if that gives me any credibility).

    I’m not a huge fan of Stephen King’s writing style or that genre in general, but you can’t argue with his success. But, my exhusband met him at a book signing and said he was a total jerk (and I say it takes one to know one lol). Keep up the good work…you certainly have the drive and ambition 🙂

    • Thanks you. That is very kind of you to say. I have no confidence in my writing that’s why I enter all these prompts. I am humbled by the words of an English teacher so thanks again. Takes one to know one huh! That made me giggle.

  4. I absolutely love Stephen King. He’s my hero 😀 or at least the 10 year old that got hooked on Salem’s Lot when I was in the 5th grade’s hero. If you’re not into horror, per se, then you should check out his Dark Tower series…It’s more fantasy than horror. And his book On Writing is a must for anyone interested in writing. Loved your post 😀

  5. I’ve read that book too and he did come off a bit harsh in that section. I think he is trying to give some harsh realism to people who think they can just stroll into a fulltime writing career, but also that’s his opinion. That’s what he did to become successful, but there are a million and one ways to success. So, make it your mission to prove him wrong and then email him when you do. 🙂

  6. It can be discouraging to read that, but there are many ways to get to success. I have to agree with the amount/type of reading – I was pretty happy I read 24 books last year…oh, and they were all books in the genres I like to read. I might not be well-rounded, but I’m happy 🙂

  7. I enjoyed this post. My reading taste runs from Stephen King to William Faulkner! SK’s book is on my list, and after reading your offering, I must get it right away. By the way, keep writing whether you read 1 or 100 books a year!

Leave a Reply

