The Secret is Out

I have held this secret for years.  So uncomfortably.  Feeling so dirty.  Like my life is a big lie.  Now my family knows.  It was hard but necessary to tell them.  They were understandably shocked but supportive.   Now in the comfort of a warm bubble bath, I look at myself and I am finally happy.  I have transformed from Dan to Danielle.  The secret is out.  I can be me.

This is fiction.  It was done for Picture it & Write

I urge people to join in, comment with your paragraph of fiction to accompany the image. It doesn’t have to follow my story or reflect the same themes. It can be a poem or in a different language (provide a translation please). Anyone who wants to join in, is welcome. This photograph will be reblogged under Ermisenda on tumblr and added to the Picture it & Write gallery on Facebook and Pinterest.

16 thoughts on “The Secret is Out

  1. Wow, such an overwhelming experience! You condensed that so well. I love how you described ‘I have transformed from Dan to Danielle. The secret is out. I can be me.’ A great way to finish it. Thanks for contributing this week!

    – Ermisenda

Leave a Reply

