Let it Flow

This weeks Trifecta writing challenge.  As you’ll recall from your elementary science class days, the structure of the earth can be divided most simply into three sections: core, mantle, crust.  Here’s a diagram.

Image courtesy of Danilo Rizzuti / FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Give us 33 words from it. Interpret the prompt however you wish–literal, metaphorical, or somewhere in between.

I gave it my best shot.  Here is it.  In 33 words!  It’s called Let it Flow

My heart is like the earth.

A rough crust formed by pain.

It’s mantle houses my everyday feelings.

While both protect a core of Love.

Waiting to be pierced for it to flow.

32 thoughts on “Let it Flow

  1. VERY nice in one of my last posts, I described my inner healing but was too wordy ..I will share anyway

    For the first time in 33 years I am alone, today.

    My body has not quite caught up to this new reality because as the mother of nine, I was always on call. My ears are trained, listening for the sounds of my children playing, working and sleeping , always ready to soothe or help.
    The result is that I am still tense, rushing to squeeze in some time to write when in fact, God has graciously handed me hours of the day where I am free. I am free to write, pray, even relax and enjoy the acres of land the surround our old house.

    The greatest obstacle to relaxing is childhood fears. My body has not yet adjusted because the body remembers trauma for years. Muscles are tense, storing fear in every cell. The subconscious too needs time to unwind long after the conscious mind has grappled with the past, let go of memories and forgiven. Then there are the pre-verbal, non-verbal parts of my soul that cannot be cajoled into coming out of their cave. Any sign of control or manipulation sends them scurrying back into hiding; they take the longest to warm up in the light and warmth of the truth.

Leave a Reply

