Too Young

This weekend we’re asking for 33 of your own words that exorcise a demon.  One of your own, or one from your imagination.  Let it bleed on the page.

This week’s challenge is community-judged.
  • For the 12 hours following the close of the challenge, voting will be enabled on links.
  • In order to vote, return to this post where stars will appear next to each link.  To vote, simply click the star that corresponds with your favorite post.
  • You can vote for your top three favorite posts.
  • Voting is open to everyone. Encourage your friends to vote for you, if you wish, but please don’t tell them to vote on a number. The numbering of the posts changes regularly, as authors have the ability to delete their own links at any time.
  • You have 12 hours to vote.  It’s not much time, so be diligent! We’ll send out reminders on Twitter and Facebook.
Good luck!
This work is fiction written for the challenge above.  Exorcise a demon:
Drunk again.  Yelling. Beating. Pain.  
I have seen it all. 
I’m too young to see this. 
It has to end now. 
I slowly aim
Then pull the trigger. 

Blood and silence. 
Its over.

25 thoughts on “Too Young

  1. You’re right, you are TOO YOUNG…too young to let this disease win. Suicide is not the answer- loving yourself enough space to learn to love yourself is. Trust me, I’m not preaching…I’m a recovering addict with a daughter that’s in recovery & a son that’s an alcoholic. What you wrote is my fear for him, and you.
    There’s a light at the end of the tunnel, you will find it, please trust me on that.

    • Actually I wrote as the kid killing the abuser, not himself. Both are sad options and troubling. I guess people can interpret it as suicide but that was not the intent when I wrote it. It is fiction.

      • I’m sorry that I misunderstood it, but I’m VERY glad it’s fiction! I came back to add you to my blog reader & read the tagline, then realized it wasn’t you that’s the alcoholic. If you want to delete my 1st comment, I understand 🙂

      • Its fine! It is good advice. Thanks for taking time to read that little story. Its it kind of dark but I was working with only 33 words. So when I whittled away thats what came up.

  2. It’s sad that a child would have to go to this level to make it stop. It frustrates me when adults don’t think about how their actions affect kids. I know this is fiction, but it’s a reality for some.

  3. I grew up in an abusive household..but I always wanted to love that pain away, not kill it. Isn’t it interesting to see how people choose to fight that demon?

    I liked what you did, I think today (esp in light of the violence of our age) it’s important to talk about it.

    no child should grow up seeing all that ache and pain, all that violence. However, I stand here, knowing that you can come out of it…that you can rise above it..

    nice to meet you and your blog.

    • I am sure we all find different ways to escape and function. Its tough and though this was fiction, it does bear the feelings I felt at times. Yes, we can rise above and Love, even the abuser at times. TY for sharing your thoughts on such a tough subject.

  4. What would the world be like without alcohol? Homer Simpson put it best when he said, “Alcohol, the cause of and solution to all of life’s problems!’ This piece was riveting. Sad and oh so true.

  5. Alcoholism-a terribly scary demon!I could sense the agony of a young mind,scarred by the daily abuse & the end,though violent in a way,provided the only succour!Very powerful!Loved it!:-)

  6. I’m also an adult child of an alcoholic – he was also an abuser of my mother – we never had guns around the house. I can understand why now. He died when I was 16. She died when I was 23. I miss her.

    this is poignant and well done.

  7. It is nice to see Trifectans tackling the huge issues that weigh on our hearts. There are a lot of good discussions happening in comments. This being one. Thanks for linking up.

  8. “I have seen it all. ” Seeing it all at a young age does tend to create old souls, filled with anger at having their innocence torn from them. At least that’s what it did to me. Great story. Thanks for sharing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

